Font size:


Nepean Blue Mountains PHN (NBMPHN) is dedicated to supporting the right health services for our local community.

Our role is to identify what health services are needed in the Nepean and Blue Mountains communities and how we can bridge any gaps there may be in the provision of these services.

The region covered by NBMPHN includes four local government areas:

  • Blue Mountains Local Government Area
  • Hawkesbury Local Government Area
  • Lithgow Local Government Area
  • Penrith Local Government Area

The Nepean Blue Mountains PHN has the same boundaries as the Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District.

Within the NBM catchment, 2.2 per cent of the population identify as being of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander descent and 10.7 per cent of the population are aged 65 years or above.

NBMPHN history

On the 24 February 2012, Wentworth Healthcare Limited was registered with the Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC).

Since 2012, Wentworth Healthcare Limited has been tasked with improving the health of the region through patient-centred care and primary care integration, initially trading as Nepean-Blue Mountains Medicare Local (NBMML) before transitioning to NBMPHN on 1 July, 2015 as part of the Primary Health Networks (PHNs) program.

Wentworth Healthcare Limited is a not-for profit public company limited by guarantee.

The organisation’s founding members are:

  • Nepean Division of General Practice
  • Blue Mountains GP Network
  • Hawkesbury-Hills Division of General Practice